Be Intentional

This thought came to me a couple of weeks ago during a message my Pastor was preaching on being a witness. He had made the point that wherever we go, we should always be alert to those around us, ready to strike up a conversation with them. He gave several examples of conversation starters, ways to engage with others, to open the door to tell them about Jesus. I began to think of all the times I go to Wal-Mart, or the grocery store, and how many people I actually come in contact with. While I always try to have a smile and be polite and kind, how many times have I determined that I was going to do my best to not just ‘be’ a witness, but open that door and actually witness?

That’s when it hit me that I have to be intentional. The definition of intentional is: done by intention or design. A few synonyms are: conscious, deliberate, purposeful, voluntary, willful, and knowing. How many times have I been intentional when I walked into the local market? When I begin to chat with the person in line behind me, was I deliberate in what I said, so that I could shed the light of Jesus? I absolutely believe in those things that happen that we call ‘a God thing’, but we must have action on our part. Are we voluntary and willing to open our mouths and witness to those around us? Or are we too busy to sensitive and discern the needs of others around us?

We have to be intentional. We have to be purposeful. Deliberate. Willing. Oh, do we have to be willing. I admit, most days when I’m grocery shopping I have three kids with me and I’m usually just trying to get out alive. Can any other moms out there relate? Or maybe you don’t have kids and you’re just trying to run in and out and be done with your errand running. I get that, too. Nobody buys milk and toilet paper for fun, really. I just can’t let myself forget that there’s a world out there so much bigger than me. Other people out there are hurting and hungry. Maybe they’re in need of a prayer from someone in the checkout line, desperate for a stranger to give them a glimmer of hope that there’s more to this life than what they’ve experienced. We were made for more! We weren’t created to just live and die. There’s so much to be done in between.

I can’t forget that I’ve got truth and hope. God has done far more for me than I deserve, and I can’t neglect to tell others what He’s done. Somebody needs to know that He brought me out of a pit, and He can bring them out, too. Somebody needs to hear that they have a Heavenly Father that loves them more than life itself, so much that He gave His life for them. Somebody needs to be shown mercy, so they can see that they are worth it, that they are never too far gone for God’s love to reach. Somebody is hurting. Somebody is lost. Somebody is scrambling in darkness seeking a light to lead them out.

That’s why I can’t neglect to be intentional. I can’t think that even something as simple as a trip to town isn’t an opportunity to be a living, breathing, talking witness tonthose around me. We have to be intentional in our witness. We can’t just think that because we’re living right, that’s enough. Part of living for Jesus is spreading the Gospel. To be salt and light in this world, we have to be intentional.

Be intentional today, friend. Engage with that waitress bringing your drink. Spark up a conversation with the boy bagging your groceries, or the girl checking you out. Show them what an intentional Child of God looks like, willing and purposeful in their witnessing endeavors to be the hands and feet of Christ.

IMG_8247

Published by dayinthelifeof5

I'm a stay-at-home mom to three kiddos. Married to my best friend for 12 years. I love Jesus, singing, writing, worship, coffee, and I'm so blessed you can't imagine. This is all about Him, for His glory. I recently published a book that you can find online at Barnes & Noble or Amazon, titled 'Jesus, Family, & Coffee.' 🙏🏼❤️☕️ You can also follow me on Facebook and Instagram, Day in the life of 5.

Leave a comment